The city also has professional rugby, ice hockey and cricket teams, and the Aegon Nottingham Open, an international tennis tournament on the ATP and WTA tours.
This accolade came just over a year after Nottingham was named as the UK's first City of Football.
The ditch was later widened, in the mid-13th century, and a stone wall built around much of the perimeter of the town.
A short length of the wall survives, and is visible at the northern end of Maid Marian Way, and is protected as a Scheduled Monument.
Eventually, the space between was built on as the town grew and the Old Market Square became the focus of Nottingham several centuries later.
Defences, consisted initially of a ditch and bank in the early 12th century.
On the return of Richard the Lionheart from the Crusades, the castle was occupied by supporters of Prince John, including the Sheriff of Nottingham.
It was besieged by Richard and, after a sharp conflict, was captured.
Nottingham has links to the legend of Robin Hood and to the lace-making, bicycle (notably Raleigh bikes) and tobacco industries.
It was granted its city charter in 1897 as part of Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee celebrations.
Nottingham was one of the boroughs reformed by the Municipal Corporations Act 1835, and at that time consisted of the parishes of St Mary, St Nicholas and St Peter.
It was expanded in 1877 by adding the parishes of Basford, Brewhouse Yard, Bulwell, Radford, Sneinton, Standard Hill, and parts of the parishes of West Bridgford, Carlton, Wilford (North Wilford).
The title reflects Nottingham's literary heritage, with Lord Byron, D. Lawrence and Alan Sillitoe having links to the city, as well as a strong contemporary literary community, a thriving publishing industry and a vibrant poetry scene.